Start of Main Content

Medicare/Medicaid Provider Number (MPN)

What is a Medicare Provider Number (MPN)?

A Medicare/Medicaid Provider Number (MPN) verifies that a provider has been Medicare certified and establishes the type of care the provider can perform. This identifier is a six-digit number. The first two digits specify the state in which the provider is located, and the last four digits indicate the type of facility. For ambulatory surgery centers, the MPN is 10 digits — with the first two digits representing the state where the surgery center is located.

MPN is also known as an OSCAR (Online Survey, Certification, and Reporting) Number, Medicare Identification Number, and Provider Number.

Is NPI the same as Medicare Provider Number?

A National Provider Identifier (NPI) is a unique 10-digit identification number for insured healthcare providers.

In 2007, NPI took over MPN. At the same time, MPN was also renamed to CMS Certification Number (CCN). Today, MPN is still used for providers to verify Medicare/Medicaid certifications on all survey and certification and patient assessment transactions.

Why are MPNs an important metric for healthcare?

An MPN is issued by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and used by Medicare for surveys, certification, and patient assessments. A facility must pass a Medicare survey/inspection to obtain an MPN. Providers that do not participate in the Medicare program will not have an MPN.