American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM)

What is the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM)?

The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) is a non-profit independent evaluation organization led by physicians who want to achieve higher standards for patient care. 

ABIM was founded in 1936 with the goal of establishing more uniform standards for physicians. Currently, more than 200,000 physicians are certified by the ABIM. 

What does it mean to be certified by ABIM?

Certification by ABIM shows that the internist, or the personal physician providing long-term, comprehensive care in a hospital or office, has demonstrated to the public and their peers that they have the clinical skills, judgment, and attitude that are essential for exceptional patient care of both common and complex illnesses. 

Internal medicine has many subspecialties, which include: 

  • Adolescent medicine 
  • Advanced heart failure & transplant cardiology 
  • Cardiovascular disease 
  • Critical care medicine 
  • Infectious diseases 
  • Geriatric medicine 
  • Endocrinology, diabetes, & Metabolism 
  • Hospice & palliative medicine 
  • Sports medicine 
  • Pulmonary disease 
  • Neurology 
  • Medical oncology 
  • Rheumatology 
  • Adult congenital heart disease 
  • Clinical cardiac electrophysiology 
  • Gastroenterology 
  • Hematology 
  • Interventional cardiology 
  • Nephrology 
  • Neurocritical care 
  • Sleep medicine 
  • Transplant hepatology